Canadian Poultry Magazine

The Poultry Science Association Announces Its 2015 Fellows and Additional Award Winners

By Poultry Science Association   

Features Profiles Researchers Poultry Research Research

July 7, 2015 – The Poultry Science Association (PSA) released a list of the recipients of its annual awards and other honours for members working in poultry science and related disciplines.  All award winners will be formally honoured on July 30 at PSA’s awards celebration during its 104th annual meeting, which will be held July 27-30 at the Galt House Hotel in Louisville, Kentucky.

New PSA Fellows

PSA Fellow is the highest recognition PSA can bestow on a member. An individual is named a PSA Fellow for their professional distinction and contributions to the field of poultry science without regard to longevity. This year four PSA members were selected and are listed below.

  • Mary E. Delany, Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
  • Billy M. Hargis, D.V.M., Ph.D. (University of Arkansas)
  • Kirk C. Klasing, Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
  • Robert L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. (West Virginia University)

Additional PSA Honors and Award Winners

This year PSA will honour over 40 individuals for their accomplishments and contribution to poultry science. PSA awards professional members for their excellence in areas such as research, teaching and Extension. In addition, PSA recognizes student members for their research and extends travel grants to help students attend the PSA annual meeting.

“We extend a big thank you to those that have taken the time to nominate and recognize efforts of friends and colleagues,” PSA President Todd Applegate said. “You certainly have made each committee’s work extremely difficult with the quality and breadth of work exemplified in those nominations.”

  • American Egg Board Research Award – Dong Uk Ahn, Ph.D. (Iowa State University) and Hyun-Dong Paik, Ph.D. (Konkuk University)
  • American Feed Industry Association Poultry Nutrition Research Award – Mingan Choct, Ph.D. (University of New England)
  • Evonik Degussa Award for Achievement in Poultry Science – Gene M. Pesti, Ph.D. (University of Georgia)
  • Hy-Line International Research Award – Tri Duong, Ph.D. (Texas A&M University)
  • Maple Leaf Farms Duck Research Award – Gregory S. Fraley, Ph.D. (Hope College)
  • National Chicken Council Broiler Research Award – Edgar O. Oviedo-Rondon, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University)
  • Novus International Teaching Award – Wallace D. Berry, Jr., Ph.D. (Auburn University)
  • Phibro Extension Award – Anthony J. Pescatore, Ph.D. (University of Kentucky)
  • PSA Early Achievement Award for Extension – Gregory S. Archer, Ph.D. (Texas A&M University)
  • PSA Early Achievement Award for Industry – Cesar A. Coto, Ph.D., (Cobb-Vantress, Inc.)
  • PSA Student Recruitment Award – Aggie Leadership Council (Texas A&M University)
  • Tyson Foods Inc. Support Personnel Award – Pamela Utterback (University of Illinois)
  • USPOULTRY Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award – Igal Pevzner, Ph.D, (Cobb-Vantress, Inc.)
  • Zoetis Fundamental Science Award – Alan L. Johnson, Ph.D. (Penn State University)

Honorary PSA Members

  • T. Pearse Lyons Ph.D (Alltech) 

Student Awards

  • Alltech Student Research Manuscript Award – Xi Chen (Purdue University)
  • Biomin Latin American Graduate Student Travel Grant Award – Tiago Ferreira Birro Oliveira (Universidade Federal de Lavras)
  • Jones-Hamilton Co. Undergraduate Student Travel Grant AwardMaurice Stein Fellowship Award – Prafulla Regmi (Michigan State University)
    • Timothy J. Broderick (Texas A&M University)
    • Kyle D. Brown (Texas A&M University)
    • Caitlin E. Harris (University of Georgia)
    • B. Danielle Mahaffey (University of Arkansas)
    • Grace A. Parker (Virginia Tech)
    • Hunter G. Walters (Texas A&M University)
  • PSA Graduate Student Travel Grant Award
    • Abiodun Bello (University of Alberta)
    • Isa J. Ehr (Iowa State University)
    • Manuel Joao Goncalves Da Costa (University of Georgia)
    • Jasper L. T. Heerkens (Institute for Agricultural & Fisheries Research)
    • Shurong Li (Penn State University)
    • Antrison Morris (Ohio State University)
    • Teresa Casey-Trott (University of Guelph)

Andrew F. Giesen III Undergraduate Internship Program Participants

  • Katie L. Burt (Texas A&M University)
  • Lucas E. Graham (University of Arkansas)
  • Nayeem A. Hossain (North Carolina State University)
  • Veronica Nacchia (University of Delaware)
  • Aaron C. Oxendine (North Carolina State University)
  • Kyle Teague (University of Arkansas)
  • Grayson K. Walker (North Carolina State University)

Additional Awards to Be Announced

Winners of the Aviagen Turkeys Communications Award, Student Research Certificates of Excellence, and Student Research Certificates of Participation will be announced at the awards celebration. Student Research Certificates of Excellence are presented in recognition of students who have presented high-quality research papers at the annual meeting. Student Research Certificates of Participation are presented to undergraduate students who present research papers at the annual meeting.

Aviagen Turkeys presents an award to a maximum of two graduate student Certificate of Excellence winners at the annual PSA meeting whose oral paper was given with the turkey as the principal unit of research. The award serves to increase awareness of the opportunities available to students who choose to do research with turkeys. 


Print this page


Stories continue below