Canadian Poultry Magazine

Ontario egg farmer to be inducted into the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame

By Canadian Poultry magazine   

News Producers

Retired egg producer Carolynne Griffith a former Egg Farmers of Ontario chair.

Carolynne Griffith is a retired egg farmer and former chair of Egg Farmers of Ontario.

In 2023, the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame (OAHF) will induct 11 individuals who have made significant impacts on Ontario agriculture and beyond.

One of this year’s honourees is Carolynne Griffith, a retired egg producer from Alvinston, Ont.

Griffith, who was nominated by Egg Farmers of Ontario (EFO), has a long history of making significant contributions to improve Ontario’s egg and pullet farming sectors.


She has dedicated years to advancing the interest of Ontario’s egg and pullet farmers locally, provincially, nationally, and internationally.

As chair of EFO, Griffith was an effective advocate in defending the interest of Canadian egg farmers, the broader industry, and supply management during historic trade negotiations.

In this capacity, she ensured the perspective of Canadian egg farmers was heard by international trade negotiators, government representatives, and other stakeholders.

A strong supporter for building meaningful connections with consumers, she has answered thousands of questions about eggs and egg farming at the Canadian National Exhibition, Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, Western Fair, local events and schools.

The inductees will be recognized in a ceremony on June 11, bringing the total number of inductees recognized since 1980 to 256.

To qualify for this prestigious recognition, inductees must have shown visionary leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

“Our Board of Directors was overwhelmed by the number of nomination packages received for consideration last year,” says Nick Whyte, president of the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame Association.

“This level of interest really shows the importance that the agricultural industry places on recognizing its leaders – both past and present.”

Print this page


Stories continue below